RBHS Provost–Newark Search Committee

Dear RBHS Colleagues:

The position of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences Provost Newark was established by the "New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act of 2012" as a key academic role with responsibility for the biomedical and health sciences programs located in Newark.

The RBHS Provost–Newark supports the academic missions of the RBHS faculty and acts as a chief on faculty affairs. As you know, Dr. Robert Wieder has ably served in this role since 2014. With his imminent sabbatical and return to the faculty of New Jersey Medical School on July 1, we must identify a qualified replacement. It is my pleasure to announce the launch of an internal search for our new provost and introduce the members of the search committee, listed below.

Our goal is to identify the most highly qualified individual from within the faculty of our Newark schools. We are seeking a faculty member with exceptional leadership skills, a track record of research or other scholarly achievement, an understanding of healthcare delivery, and a strong commitment to professional development, diversity, and inclusion. This position is part time representing a fifty percent commitment of time.

I encourae you to forward names of potential candidates to the Search Committee Chair or to the members of the committee. Interested candidates may apply for the position directly at:


I would like to thank the members of our search committee in advance for their time, service, and commitment to our academic mission as we complete this search. We are looking forward to a robust process to identify the leader who will best help us fulfill our strategic goals, develop effective administrative policies, and create a productive and rewarding scholarly environment across RBHS.

In order to fill the position quickly, please submit names or applications by May 11.

Thank you,


Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH


RBHS Provost–Newark Search Committee

Jeffrey Carson, MD – Chair
Soly Baredes, MD
Daniel E. Kadouri, MSc, PhD
Teri Lassiter, PhD
Tamara Minko, PhD
Reynold A. Panettieri, Jr. MD
Andrew P. Thomas, PhD
Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, PhD, RN
Riva Touger-Decker, PhD, RD
Jerome D. Williams, PhD