Patricia Fitzgerald-Bocarsly Appointed RBHS Provost–Newark

Dear RBHS Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Patricia Fitzgerald-Bocarsly, PhD to the position of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences Provost – Newark, effective September 15, 2018.

As the RBHS Provost–Newark, Dr. Fitzgerald-Bocarsly will serve in a part time capacity as a key academic leader with responsibility for the biomedical and health sciences programs located in Newark and supporting the academic missions of our faculty at large. Dr. Fitzgerald-Bocarsly will help us fulfill our strategic goals, develop effective administrative policies, and create a productive and rewarding scholarly environment across RBHS. Her deep understanding and experience in the basic sciences and laboratory research will serve as a valuable complement to the clinical and translational research experience of Dr. Jeffrey Carson, our RBHS–New Brunswick Provost.

Arriving in 1985, Dr. Fitzgerald-Bocarsly is a member of the faculty of the New Jersey Medical School and is currently a tenured full professor and vice-chair for research of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. She earned her BS from the University of California Los Angeles, an MA from the University of California- Davis, and a PhD from Boston University, completing her post-doctoral training as a fellow at the Sloan-Kettering Institute. Her highly collaborative basic laboratory science research program is focused on innate immune responses to human viral infections, with a concentration on the basic biology of dendritic cells and their dysregulation in HIV infection and aging. She has been continuously funded by the NIH since 1984 and has published more than 100 manuscripts, chapters, and review articles.

In addition to her own basic science research, she is a co-investigator on the Weill Cornell Medical College-NJMS AIDS Clinical Trials Unit Grant from the NIH, and serves as director of laboratory for its NJMS site. She has also served as a member on many NIH study sections, including as a permanent member and Chair of the NIH’s AIDS Immunology and Pathogenesis Study Section and chair of several ad hoc study sections. She has also served on editorial boards of several prestigious journals and has held committee roles in several societies including on the Committee for the Status of Women for the American Association of Immunologists and on the Awards Committee for the International Cytokine and Interferon Society.

Career honors include: the Dolph Adams Award from the Society of Leukocyte Biology, NJMS Faculty of the Year Award, NJMS Faculty Organization Mentoring Award, the Foundation Research Award, and she was the inaugural featured woman for the NJMS Group on Women in Medicine and Science.

From an academic administration and service perspective, Dr. Fitzgerald-Bocarsly has served as an active member and chair of numerous search committees, scientific director for a core facility, IACUC, and member of the following committees: Institutional Planning and Development, Committee on Appointments and Promotions, Faculty Affairs, Student Affairs, the LCME Task Force, Executive Council of the School of Graduate Studies Newark, as well as President of the Faculty Organization, the first President of the RBHS Faculty Council, and a representative to the University Senate. As a teacher and mentor throughout her career, she has mentored 33 PhD students as well as post-doctoral students and junior faculty members.

Dr. Fitzgerald-Bocarsly was selected following a comprehensive internal search process led by Dr. Carson, RBHS Provost–New Brunswick. I would like to extend my thanks to Dr. Carson and the members of the search committee, listed below, for their thorough and efficient search

Please join me in welcoming Pat Fitzgerald-Bocarsly to the RBHS leadership team and congratulating her on her new role. Together we look forward to continuing to develop and grow as the leading academic health center for New Jersey. 


Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH


RBHS Provost–Newark Search Committee

Jeffrey Carson, MD – Chair
Soly Baredes, MD
Daniel E. Kadouri, MSc, PhD
Teri Lassiter, PhD
Tamara Minko, PhD
Reynold A. Panettieri, Jr. MD
Andrew P. Thomas, PhD
Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, PhD, RN
Riva Touger-Decker, PhD, RD
Jerome D. Williams, PhD