Announcement Regarding Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Leadership

Dear RBHS Colleagues:

I am writing today to inform you that Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, MSc, has notified me of her decision to resign her position as dean of Robert Wood Johnson Medical School to become the President of Rush University in Chicago. Dean Gabriel joined Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences in July 2015 from Mayo Medical School and has been instrumental in leading the medical school through the continued integration with Rutgers and our clinical partners at RWJBarnabas Health.

Under Dr. Gabriel’s leadership, the medical school experienced significant increases in NIH and extramural funding year-over-year; opened a modern Clinical Research Center with expanded capabilities adept at managing clinical trials for internal and external investigators; received a full eight-year accreditation from the LCME; and earned the coveted Gold Seal Certification for Ambulatory Practices from The Joint Commission. She promoted stronger collaborative endeavors between medical school faculty and colleagues across RBHS and the university, and with our health system partners. Dr. Gabriel also completed the school's financial turnaround, successfully filled ten chair positions and began the integration of the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School's clinical enterprise into Rutgers Health.

It is always bittersweet when a colleague leaves. However, it is testament to the important work that we accomplish here at Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences and to the quality and achievements of our leaders when they are offered positions that then significantly advance their careers. We are proud of Sherine and her accomplishments. We will celebrate them together as is appropriately deserved, in the near future. More information on that will follow. Please join me in wishing Sherine success in her new position. She will continue her role as dean until January 10, 2019.

In addition, I am pleased to announce that Robert L. Johnson, MD, FAAP, The Sharon and Joseph L. Muscarelle Endowed Dean of New Jersey Medical School, has agreed to assume the additional position of interim dean of Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

Dean Johnson joined the faculty of the New Jersey Medical School Department of Pediatrics in 1976, following the completion of his fellowship training in Adolescent Medicine. He created the Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine and led it since its inception. He served as Chair of Pediatrics from 2001 to 2005, when he was asked to serve as the school’s interim dean. In 2011, following a nationwide search, Dr. Johnson was named Dean of New Jersey Medical School. It is important to note that Dr. Johnson will continue to serve as Dean of New Jersey Medical School as he assumes the interim deanship of Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

Dr. Johnson is a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics and serves on the Advisory Committee of the Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences of the National Research Council's National Academy of Sciences. He serves as Vice Chair of the Community Preventive Services Task Force at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. At the state level, Dean Johnson chairs the New Jersey Governor's Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS and Related Blood Borne Pathogens and the Newark Ryan White Planning Council. Previously, Dr. Johnson served as the President of the New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners; as the Chair of the US Department of Health and Human Services' Council on Graduate Medical Education; and as a member of the National Council of the National Institute of Mental Health; the NIH AIDS Research Council; and the Institute of Medicine, Health Care Services Board.

Please join me at a Town Hall meeting on Wednesday, October 31 at 1 pm in the RWJMS Clinical Academic Building, room 1302 to meet with Bob and share your thoughts as we discuss the leadership transition. 

Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH