Center for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine (CABM) Director Appointed

Dear RBHS Colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce the appointment of Martin J. Blaser, MD to be the next Director of the Center for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine (CABM). Dr. Blaser will also be the Henry Rutgers Chair of the Human Microbiome and Professor of Medicine and Microbiology at the Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. Currently he serves as the Muriel and George Singer Professor of Medicine, Professor of Microbiology, and Director of the Human Microbiome Project at New York University School of Medicine. Dr. Blaser will formally join Rutgers University on or about January 15, 2019, which will significantly raise the University’s already very strong profile in the field of human microbiome research overnight.

As a physician and microbiologist, Dr. Blaser’s lab has been studying the human microbiome for more than 20 years. His research focuses on understanding the relationships that human beings have with both their pathogenic and colonizing bacteria including the microbes Campylobacterand Helicobacter pylori. He then began to actively study the relationship of the human microbiome with health and with major diseases such as asthma, obesity, diabetes, allergies, inflammatory bowel disease, and cancer.

Dr. Blaser served as Chair of the Department of Medicine at NYU from 2000 to 2012. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Pennsylvania and medical degree from New York University. Notably he has served as President of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, Chair of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Cancer Institute, Chair of the Advisory Board for Clinical Research of the National Institutes of Health, and on the Scientific Advisory Board of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. He currently serves as the Chair of the Presidential Advisory Council for Combating Antibiotic Bacteria (PACCARB), and was elected to the National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy for Arts and Sciences.

In addition to holding 28 United States patents related to his research, he has authored over 580 original articles, with over 100,000 citations in the scientific literature. For the popular press he wrote Missing Microbes: How the Overuse of Antibiotics is Fueling Our Modern Plagues, now being translated into 20 languages and which received the 2017 Wenjin Book Award from the National Library of China.

We are looking forward to Dr. Blaser joining Rutgers where his primary goal will be to grow CABM as a premier biomedical laboratory science research institute, build on its history and legacy to advance human biology and medicine, and serve as a vital bridge between Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences and Rutgers University – New Brunswick. Dr. Blaser will be working with colleagues across the University to develop a distinctive vision for CABM, recruit outstanding new faculty, and establish a creative new infrastructure to promote discovery, translation, and build partnerships with industry.

The exemplary national search process for CABM’s new director was led by Dr. Arnold Rabson, who conducted as diligent and thorough a search for the best candidate to serve in this position as possible. My thanks to Dr. Rabson and the members of the CABM Search Committee for their time and efforts in bringing this search to conclusion. Their names are listed below.

As we welcome Dr. Blaser, we must also acknowledge the many contributions of Dr. Anne Stock who has served as the Interim Director of CABM since 2012. Throughout her term, Dr. Stock has continued to advance the fundamental missions of CABM as well as maintaining her own considerable research portfolio and mentoring research faculty and graduate students. We wish her the best as she returns to the faculty where she will be able to concentrate on her true passion for biomedical research. 

Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH

CABM Search Committee Members

Arnold Rabson, Chair
Eddy Arnold
Joseph Bertino
William Gause
Joachim Kohn
An-Ng “Tony” Kong
Peter Lobel
Gwendolyn Mahon
Gaetano Montelione
Sally Radovick
Kathy Scotto