Sherine E. Gabriel named Dean for the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Dear RBHS Colleagues:

I am delighted to announce the selection of Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, as dean of Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

Dr. Gabriel is presently dean of Mayo Medical School at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, a position she has held since 2012. In addition, she has been professor of medicine and professor of epidemiology at Mayo Medical School since 2000 and the William J. and Charles H. Mayo endowed professor since 2005. Dr. Gabriel, who has been associated with the Mayo Clinic in a variety of roles for nearly 30 years, is also an established NIH-funded investigator in the epidemiology of the rheumatic diseases. She will join Robert Wood Johnson Medical School as dean in August, 2015.

Dr. Gabriel received her undergraduate education at the University of Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, and the College of Pharmacy at the University of Saskatchewan Medical School, before earning her medical degree at the University of Saskatchewan.

In 1983, she began her association with the Mayo Clinic, first with a residency in internal medicine, and later with a fellowship in rheumatology, at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. She next held a rheumatology research fellowship at Wellesley Hospital in Toronto while earning a master’s degree in clinical epidemiology at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. She has also attended graduate executive education courses at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania and the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.

Dr. Gabriel became a senior associate consultant in the Mayo Clinic's Department of Internal Medicine in 1990. Among her subsequent appointments there, she was chair of the Mayo Clinic's Department of Health Sciences Research, medical director of its international office, and medical director of its Office for Strategic Alliances and Business Development. She also served as a member of the Mayo Clinic Executive Board.

In her first year as dean of Mayo Medical School, Dr. Gabriel launched a program to design, implement, and disseminate a new education model to prepare future physicians to achieve better care, healthier patients/communities, and more affordable health care. This initiative has been recognized by the American Medical Association through a competitive award.

Her largely-NIH funded research has resulted in more than 250 peer-reviewed original scientific publications addressing the costs, determinants, and outcomes of the rheumatic diseases.

Dr. Gabriel is recognized in particular for her epidemiologic studies examining the risks of connective tissue diseases among women with breast implants, population-based studies characterizing the epidemiology of nearly all major rheumatic diseases, and her studies defining the economic impact of rheumatoid arthritis. Most recently, her research has focused on elucidating the risks and determinants of heart disease among persons with rheumatoid arthritis. She is past president of the American College of Rheumatology.

In addition, Dr. Gabriel was appointed by the U.S. Government Accountability Office to the Methodology Committee of the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) and has served as the committee's first chair. PCORI was created by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010. She has also served on many other governmental committees and advisory boards, including the FDA Drug Safety and Risk Management Committee.

I would like to express thanks to Dr. Robert DiPaola, director of the Cancer Institute of New Jersey, and all other members of the search committee for their time and commitment to the search process. The search committee began evaluating from a pool of 59 highly qualified applicants, interviewed 16 excellent candidates, with seven visiting campus, and eventually presented three distinguished finalists.

Lastly, please join me in extending our deep gratitude and appreciation to interim dean Vicente Gracias for his leadership of Robert Wood Johnson Medical School during a challenging period. Terrific recruitments have been made; a new relationship has been forged with the school's principal teaching hospital, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital; the school's financial situation has greatly improved; and the school is poised for new growth and even greater accomplishments. Dr. Gracias will continue to serve RWJMS and RBHS in a leadership capacity, with an announcement of his new role to be made in the near future.

Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH

Dean of the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Search Committee

Committee Chair: 
Robert DiPaola, MD 
Director, Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Joseph R. Bertino, MD 
Rutgers, Cancer Institute of NJ

Stephen K. Burley, MD, D.Phil 
Rutgers Center for Integrative Proteomics Research

Mr. Robert E. Campbell

Jeffrey Carson, MD 
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Siobhan Corbett, MD 
Associate Professor
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Suhayl S. Dhib-Jalbut, MD 
Professor & Chair, Department of Neurology
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Emanuel DiCicco-Bloom, MD 
Professor of Pediatrics
Child Health Institute of NJ

Cheryl F. Dreyfus, PhD 
President of Civic League

Mr. Roy Epps 
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Sunanda Gaur, MD 
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Celine Gelinas, PhD 
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

William N. Hait, MD, PhD 
Senior Vice President
Worldwide Heat of Hematology/ Oncology Research & Development
Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development

Robert L. Johnson, MD 
New Jersey Medical School

Stephen K. Jones, FACHE 
President & CEO

David S. Kountz, MD 
Senior Vice President, Academic & Medical Affairs
Jersey Shore University Medical Center

Arnold B. Rabson, MD 
Child Health Institute of New Jersey

Alfred F. Tallia, MD 
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School