Council of Research Deans

The Council of Research Deans, comprised of research leadership from all eight RBHS schools and several major institutes, meets regularly with the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Research Training to address evolving research administration topics and develop processes and strategies for ensuring continued biomedical research distinction and growth. This cohesive and synergistic organizational matrix, with both centralized and local research oversight, enables sharing of information and a supportive research infrastructure across RBHS units.


Kathleen W. Scotto, Ph.D.
Chair, RBHS Council of Research Deans
Vice Chancellor for Research and Research Training, RBHS
Vice Dean, School of Graduate Studies, Rutgers University

Mark Einstein, M.D., M.S.
New Jersey Alliance for Clinical and Translational Science, Rutgers Institute for Clinical and Translational Science

Céline Gélinas, Ph.D.
Office of Research, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Eldo Kuzhikandathil, Ph.D.
Executive Director of Administration, Brain Health Institute

Deborah A. Lazzarino, M.A., Ph.D.
Research Office, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Edmund C. Lattime, Ph.D.
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Antonina Mitrofanova, Ph.D.
Office of Research, Rutgers School of Health Professions

Narayanan Ramasubbu, Ph.D.
Office of Research, Rutgers School of Dental Medicine

Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Research at Rutgers School of Nursing

Andrea C. Villanti, Ph.D., M.P.H. 
Deputy Director, Center for Tobacco Studies

Katherine T. Zapert, M.A.
Office of Research, Rutgers School of Public Health

Helmut Zarbl, Ph.D.
Rutgers Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences Institute

Renping Zhou, Ph.D.
Rutgers Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy